Skip to Content

Australian and New Zealand Internet Awards

18 October, 2011
By Allison Orr

Last night in Melbourne, the 2011 Australian and New Zealand Internet Awards (the ANZIAs) were announced.
These awards, now in their thrd year, are a collaboration between the .au Domain Administration and InternetNZ, recognise exceptional contributions by businesses, organisations and individuals to the development of Internet use in those two countries.  There are awards in six categories: Information, Diversity, Innovation, Security and Privacy, Internet Access and Digital Skills, and IPv6.

For a full list of finalists and winners, which includes Telstra, Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet, andCisco Academy for the Vision Impaired, see the ANZIA website.

The awards ceremony included a keynote speech by the Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG, who spoke of the capacity of the Internet to reach out to people who are vulnerable to HIV.

More Articles